Latest novel about a real estate agent in Port Hope

Article & Images by Valerie MacDonald

Bewdley-area author Renny deGroot was shortlisted for the Whistler Independent Book Awards with her most recent self-published book, Heritage House, and is releasing her newest mystery in the next few months.

It’s the first in a series set in Northumberland County and features a real estate agent in Port Hope, deGroot said in an interview with the News Now Network.

She moved to Northumberland from Blackstock to enjoy the rolling Northumberland hills and nearby towns in an area she says is the “ideal place to write.” In fact, there are two other writers on the same rural road she lives on in Hamilton Township.

Heritage House, short listed in June for the Whistler Independent Book Award, “didn’t move on to the next level” although the local author says she was honoured to be recognized.

She has five other books in print: Family business, After Paris, Torn Asunder, Garden Girl and Sea Child.

DeGroot was among the fundraiser booths set up in the Grafton arena on Sept. 17. Her display not only included her books but a medal received by her grandmother Mary Thomson’s sister, Alida. There were also articles from the Nova Scotia Amherst Daily related to the Great War containing photos from her grandmother during her time during the Great War in Paris.

“I wrote the novel (After Paris) inspired by photos from my grandmother’s photo album,” she said. Mary and Alida were residents of Holland which wasn’t in the war but were there as part of a medical team supporting the Allies during WW1. They each received a medial recognizing their work in Paris at that time.

DeGroot has a lot of military information herself as she worked full time for “The Reserves” until leaving the 32 Signal Regiment in Toronto in 1985.

In her own words, the author describes what readers can expect in Sea Child.

“Caught up in an investigation that threatens the lives of those he loves, Detective Gordie MacLean and his partner are drawn into a dark world far removed from the seemingly simple life of a lobster fisherman.

“In book two of the Cape Breton Mystery series, MacLean and Albright must untangle a web of treachery to solve the mystery behind an unexplained death before innocent victims pay the price.”  
“For fans of P.D. James and Ruth Rendell, Sea Child brings the classic police procedural to life in a Canadian setting.”
The author started writing short stories and poetry as a teenager but it wasn’t until 2010 when she started writing full time and she has never looked back.

She has written one non-fiction book at it was a military history of the 32 Signal Regiment.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *